Make it Sew: Nerdy edition

Hello, dear pond readers! I have managed to be a crafty pond dweller between this winter, spring, and summer. Here is the first installment of my adventures in sewing from the last few months and they are all kinda nerdy.

Two of my friends moved into new homes so I made them towels.  Specifically, I made them towels that involved math fabric because they are both engineers and, me being me, I actually had math fabric in my stash. The fabrics are a mix of Moda and Tula Pink. I got a little fancy/experimental with the stitches on the ribbons and I have to say I’m pleased with the result.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Finally, some geeky friends of mine are having a baby. Naturally, this is a chance to make adorable, nerdy things for a small human. These friends are big Star Trek: The Next Generation fans, one of whom has an especial fondness for Wesley Crusher (Wil Wheaton). Being one of the probably few people who happened to have both the fabric on hand and the skillset to make something ST:TNG that prominently features the Crushers, this was my time to shine.

I used Star Trek:The Next Generation fabric from Camelot Cottons (Star Trek The Next Generation Badges White Fabric By The Yard) to make the baby bibs. The bibs are backed with white microplush fabric that is both super soft and super absorbent. I used velcro as the closures because snaps are the devil and I dislike them. Because this geeky couple is very Earth conscious and does not need more tissue paper, I made them a reusable drawstring bag with space fabric as the gift wrap. Finally, I included a tribble because every baby needs a tribble to keep it company in the crib.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I really like the fabric in the collection. I think the likenesses of the characters is fantastic and only slightly creepy. I particularly like Wesley’s brooding seriousness juxtaposed with Dr. Crusher’s (Gates McFadden) megawatt smile. I confess that I made a couple of Star Trek bibs to set aside in case I get my own little bag-of-mostly-water to raise one day. I anticipate that looking at the crew of the USS Enterprise-D whilst trying to dock the strained peas in the baby space station will be fun.

I hope you enjoy the pictures! Please, share any comments, questions, or Trekkie nerdery in the comments and thanks for stopping by the pond today. Live long and prosper!

IMG_6370-001

The whole set!

P.S.: I am a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program here at Technicolorlilypond, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com. If you buy this lovely: Star Trek The Next Generation Badges White Fabric By The Yard  

 I will get a small advertising fee.  Even if you don’t pick one up here, I hope that it helps you. If you do pick it up through my link, thank you very much; I hope that these fees will help support me as I continue writing and doing creative things here at Technicolorlilypond. Thanks for your support!
One thought on “Make it Sew: Nerdy edition

  1. Pingback: Happy 50th, Star Trek! – technicolorlilypond

Leave a Reply

