So many Days

A lot went on in April. There was Earth Day, International Tabletop Day, and Shakespeare’s 400th anniversary to name a few things. I had big plans to write blog posts about all of these things but I think instead I will do this blog post including links to things of relevance because sharing links is fun.

content_earth_and_limb_m1199291564l_color_2stretch_mask2048p

Earth from the surface of the moon, courtesy of LROC

Earth Day for me is about our stewardship of this incredible island in the dark that all of us call home. Looking at the Earth from space really drives home the fact that, as incredible as space exploration is, we live on the best piece of real estate in the solar system and we really need to treat it well. The lunar reconnaissance orbiter camera (LROC) is a really neat NASA mission that is continually churning out amazing images of the moon and also puts out some cool images of Earth. That image above is not only my favorite picture of Earth but it is the product of some really hard work that is detailed over in this post by LROC that I think photography geeks will particularly appreciate. Earth Day inspired this really neat article that I appreciated. Even though there are some sad things in that story like ocean acidification, global warming, and deforestation, there are some really exciting and inspiring things in there too. I found the discovery of a coral reef and the Red Colobus Monkey to be a source of particular joy. April also marks days like World Penguin Day (April 25th) and World Tapir Day (April 27th) to shine a light on some amazing species that need conservation. We can’t give up on this wondrous world, we just can’t, and hopefully enough members of the human race never will.

Board games have become a big part of my life in the last couple of years. Thanks to an interest rekindled by watching Geek & Sundry programs like Tabletop and Critical Role, I have gotten to make new friends and have a lot of fun playing board games and D&D. International Tabletop Day was April 30th and it celebrated the fun world of board games while raising money for charity. Hopefully, they will keep going with this tradition for years to come.

William Shakespeare died in 1616 on April 23rd and we’ve been performing his plays, reading his poetry, and discussing his legacy for the last 400 years. I’m a big fan of the Bard and find his work perpetually fascinating. Every time I read his plays and poetry, I find some new nuance that I never noticed before. One of my favorite bloggers had some fun posts celebrating Shakespeare that include parts from some of my favorite pieces of Shakespeare that you can see here and here. Just because, here is another great speech from another play of his I like.

“Lovers and madmen have such seething brains,
Such shaping fantasies, that apprehend
More than cool reason ever comprehends.
The lunatic, the lover and the poet
Are of imagination all compact:
One sees more devils than vast hell can hold,
That is, the madman: the lover, all as frantic,
Sees Helen’s beauty in a brow of Egypt:
The poet’s eye, in fine frenzy rolling,
Doth glance from heaven to earth, from earth to heaven;
And as imagination bodies forth
The forms of things unknown, the poet’s pen
Turns them to shapes and gives to airy nothing
A local habitation and a name.”
― William ShakespeareA Midsummer Night’s Dream 

Now that May is under way, we have already had Star Wars day, National Teacher’s Day, and Mother’s day. Later this month we also have world MS day. How was your April, dear readers? How is May going for you? Thanks for joining me here at the pond! May the force be with us all and hopefully this will be a fabulous month.

giphy

This also includes teachers and mothers in my book. Luminous beings indeed, lost we’d be without them.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “So many Days

  1. Well said, and linked, on all counts.

    Thanks to you, I am watching my way through S.T. Voyager. I don’t recall if I told you, but I’ve never watched it all the way through (I think I did tell you, but my brain is distinctly unreliable). Anyway, I am really enjoying it. It didn’t really click with me until near the end of season 2, but I expect I will like the earlier eps better once I have the context of the series, though doubtless there are some eps that I will always dislike or be “meh” about. But that’s par for the course in episodic tv shows.

    It is remarkable, to me, how much Janeway has started reminding me of Kirk… But I like her a lot more than I liked him. Really, I find myself liking characters I never got around to liking before. Paris, in particular. I always liked the Doctor, Janeway, Tuvok and B’ellana, but that wasn’t enough to get me through hating Neelix and Kes, and being bored to tears by Kim… Kim still bores me, and Neelix took a while to stop making me, like Tuvok, want to strangle him. This time around, I was fine with Kes, until the turning-point ep where she got long hair. After that, she annoyed the fire out of me and (Spoiler, people!) I wasn’t sorry to see her go. 😛 I am currently somewhere in season 3.
    I feel like the writers are somewhat schizo, or that (x-files sometimes had problems with this) they don’t bother to look back at their previous eps when they are writing new ones. Chakotay, for instance, started out kind of interesting, but he is currently more like a cardboard cutout than a character… and Janeway, interesting as she is, is all over the place. And my heavens, why didn’t they give Kim a personality?! He is so staunchly “everyman” that it’s killing me.
    But even so, I am enjoying it. So, thank you for sparking my interest in it again. 🙂

    • Oh! I am so very pleased. Getting people to re-evaluate and re-watch Star Trek was definitely part of the point of my doing my episode guide. I’m quite glad that it not only got you to re-watch Voyager but that you’re liking the experience. Q’pla! 🙂 I agree that they kinda ruined Kes. I don’t recall Chakotay’s arc terribly well which is its own indictment. I always felt sorry for Kim. He got put through the wringer, he never got a promotion, and I don’t recall that he ever really got an arc or developed significantly. The most interesting part of Kim was his ability to befriend and stick by Paris, they made a good team. Squee! I’m excited for your viewing. 😀

      • ^_^ In the words of a tongue-twister that I had pounded into me by my high school drama teacher: “Success, to the successful thistle sifter!” I am not sure how to translate that into Klingon. Though if Qo’noS has thistles, I bet they are terrifying… and I want one.

        Chakotay’s arc, so far, seems to be moving from kinda badass and interesting, to nonentity. I scarcely know he’s there right now, which makes me sad, as I liked him when he had an edge. I hope it gets better.

        I do like the Kim and Paris friendship, but I just wish Kim… had more of a personality. Just because he is the straight-man to the ridiculousness that is Paris doesn’t mean that he shouldn’t have development! Look at Tuvok! Brilliant development all over the place, and you can’t out-straight-man a vulcan.

        And naturally, if you ever want to just geek about Star Trek with someone, I’m always available. 😉

Leave a Reply

