Endurance Activity

Toad closeup by E.A. Schneider

Toad closeup by E.A. Schneider

Let no one tell you, dear pond readers, that writing is not an endurance activity. In the past 48 hours I have emptied three fountain pens worth of ink writing 36 pages of text, filling my favorite journal in the process. I have an angry red callus and a persistent dent in my index finger, which I incidentally cannot feel, from writing as fast as I could. I have had ideas for two new projects rocketing around in my head for the last few weeks and I have finally been able to put pen to paper on them. One idea is well sketched while the other has 26 pages of bona fide hand written text to transcribe to computer. Phew! ย I feel shockingly productive. I credit finding out that one of my stories is under final consideration for publication as a major motivating factor in getting some inspiration energy activated. My mom always said that an artist is only as good as their next success so I feel that if my next success is in fact potentially imminent, I had better get my rear in gear on the one after that as soon as possible. We’ll see if my life cooperates in this attempt and whether I can keep laying out ink on these projects. How are you doing on your WIPs, dear pond readers? Are you struggling to keep up? Are you digging deep to get started? Feel free to leave a comment below and thanks for stopping by the pond!

Ancient cedars clinging to older stone by E.A. Schneider

Ancient cedars clinging to older stone by E.A. Schneider

6 thoughts on “Endurance Activity

  1. Update! After transcribing those 26 pages, I found I wrote 14 double-spaced computer pages and 3,637 words on this new first draft. I have also re-gained some slight feeling in my fingertip. Huzzzah! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Congrats on your possible (and fingers crossed successfully confirmed) publication. Just reading about how much you wrote makes me want to go pull out my notebook and write furiously until I drop pens like pins!!

    Very excited for you and hope the inspiration and writing flow continues for you. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. *does a happy dance* Hurrah for inspiration and marathon-writing-sprees!

    I’m wrestling with editing a chapter of my main WIP, but in the mean time, I wrote a continuation of Prism Sentence this week. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

