SPACEBALLS the baby bibs!

Hullo, dear pond readers, I hope you’ve had a lovely spring and summer so far. Here in the Northern Midwest things have been busy. I’m happy to say that my word count on my WIP has been steadily increasing as well as my progress on my 2014-2015 reading list. My big accomplishment craft-wise from the last six months are the following baby bibs. I have never made baby bibs, or indeed baby anything before, and I spent an extraordinary amount of time figuring out what pattern to use, what materials, what design, and what techniques. The recipients are friends of ours and my hubby and I worked hard coming up with the perfect nerdy designs. It was a really fun joint effort. One of the friends in question is a big fan of the Mel Brooks movie, Spaceballs, while the other is a big fan of French bulldogs. I endeavored to speak to both interests.

I used the Scrap Lab baby bib pattern from American Patchwork and Quilting’s Summer 2011 edition of Quilts and More magazine for the bibs. The closures are made from velcro. I tried so hard to add snaps to the bibs but it proved such an injury prone disaster that I switched to velcro. The bibs are all backed with flannel. The front of the bulldog and alien bibs are quilting cottons but the Winnebago bib is all flannel. I made up the embroidery stitches in the sense that I didn’t follow any kind of pattern. Not being especially dexterous anymore, these took me a long time to do but I had fun all the same. Enjoy the pictures below!

 

Baby bibs! by E..A. Schneider

Baby bibs! by E..A. Schneider

Cute, non-nerdy French bulldog baby bib by E.A. Schneider

Cute French bulldog baby bib by E.A. Schneider

The dancing alien baby bib by E.A. Schneider

The dancing alien baby bib by E.A. Schneider

For those unfamiliar with the movie Spaceballs,  I urge you to pop some corn and watch it as soon as you can because it is amazing and hilarious. But until you can do that, check here for a clip of the scene I was inspired by.

Stitchery close-up

Stitchery close-up by E.A. Schneider

Winnebago "gone to plaid" baby bib by E.A. Schneider

Winnebago “gone to plaid” baby bib by E.A. Schneider

This bib is inspired by the protagonist’s flying Winnebago that goes at extraordinary, some would say plaid-like speeds, during the course of the movie. I think this Winnebago turned out pretty darn cute.

Thanks for looking, dear readers! If you have any questions or comments or just want to nerd out over Spaceballs, please leave a comment below. What kind of summer projects are you working on? Leave an answer below and thanks again for stopping by the pond.

P.S. If you now have a hankering to watch Spaceballs, you can get a copy here: Spaceballs [Blu-ray] I am a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program program here at Technicolorlilypond, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. Thanks for your support.

5 thoughts on “SPACEBALLS the baby bibs!

  1. Awwww!!! These are perfectly charming!! Well done!! We’re impressed–and not at all surprised (of course!)– Hugs from across the Michigan mud puddle… 🙂 Momfrog

  2. Pingback: Crafts and Treats – technicolorlilypond

Leave a Reply

