Please, Walk with me

Leaves and river by E.A. Schneider

Leaves and river by E.A. Schneider

Hello, dear readers. I’m writing to appeal to you for help with something that is really important to me: multiple sclerosis. In 2013 I was diagnosed with this disease. In oblique terms I wrote about my experience in four previous posts: Spring Crafting, Flash Fiction: Flight, Creations, and 2013: Reflections. Most of my heaviest emotions were in “2013: Reflections” wherein I used words and capsule reviews of stories to grapple with my new reality. I didn’t want to make a big deal about my disease here at the pond, and I still don’t, because I want to be defined by how I live my life rather than a disease I happen to have. However, someone really smart told me once that you can make more of a difference with one good interview or article than you can with years of quiet work, and I really want to make a difference.

I realized just before Lent this year that the reason I didn’t want to tell people, in person or online,  about my disease wasn’t because I dreaded their remarks (though I do in part) or because I am a little shy (though I am) or because I’m afraid of discrimination (though I most certainly am) but rather because I didn’t want it to be true. I don’t want to be facing this. I don’t want this shadow in my life, and if I had a magic wand and a time machine I would seriously ponder making this just go away. But that’s not how life works.  Due to whatever mysterious combo of genes and environment that occurred in my body, I am stuck with this for the rest of my life. However, I have a choice. The choice I have isn’t any different from the choice that everyone has every day, mind you, but, it is perhaps a smidge extra poignant: I can turn inward and hide or I can be brave and live my life. I am choosing to live and I am choosing to fight for my life by being a team captain in Walk MS for team Nerds for a Cure.

This is the second year I’ve been a team captain. 2014 was the inaugural walk for team Nerds for a Cure and it was a wonderful experience. I am hoping to make the 2015 walk an even better experience by training harder, raising more money, and raising more awareness about multiple sclerosis. Research is the way forward, research is the only mortal hope I have, and I know that together we can find both better treatments and a cure for multiple sclerosis if we feed the researchers the money they need to do the work they are passionate about doing: science. I am excited to be doing this and it would mean an awful lot to me, dear pond readers, if you could help. Please, check out my pages and, if you can, please walk with me in spirit by donating and sharing the links. Every single person, every connection, counts more than you can know.  Thanks for hearing me out, dear readers, and thanks for stopping by the pond today. If my posts, my words, my crafts, and my pictures brighten your day at all that makes me happy.

Macro bird by E.A. Schneider

Macro bird by E.A. Schneider

15 thoughts on “Please, Walk with me

  1. We both hope to walk with you no matter what, as we always have, as best we can. Last year was a real challenge for us, but we do still expect to enjoy ourselves again this year. In any case, Carpe Diem–seize the day!! “Each day is a new beginning, a new day with no mistakes in it.”–Lucy Maud Montgomery. Looking forward to September’s walk–followed by a hug from you for each of us with, again, a nice strong cup of tea to celebrate all of us being alive!! Always, Momfrog and Dadtoad

  2. Reblogged this on jubilare and commented:
    Technicolorlilypond is a gem. She is in possession of both the inquiring mind of a scientist, and the creative mind of a writer and craftswoman. She has a great eye for beauty, and an appetite for books that cause my jaw to drop. She is also fond of crows, which, to me, just goes to show how great she is.
    She has, fairly recently, been diagnosed with multiple sclerosis. Her response to this can be seen below. Please share and support as you can. I have experienced, first-hand, what a difference medical research can do. I want to see that difference, and more, in the war against MS.

  3. I think “parental amphibians” may be the best parental epithet I have ever seen. But I digress.
    I am glad to know what you’re dealing with, if only because I now have more specifics to pray about. You are a strong creature, and I am glad that I know you, if only through the internet. 🙂

    • Thanks, Jubilare! I appreciate your prayers very much. Thanks for your re-share and your support! The more awareness there is can only be a positive, so many people don’t know what multiple sclerosis is, I know I didn’t until it unfortunately entered my life. I’m hoping that the funds we raise will help facilitate new treatments and hopefully a cure. There’s still over 100 days to go and we’ve raised ~1/3 of our goal of $3000. If all 112 followers of this blog only donated $17.64 cents, we would meet the goal for sure. We’ll see what happens, I appreciate the positive energy and prayers. 🙂

    • Oh my goodness! Thank you very much. I was already rather dumbstruck that you reblogged my post and then you give me an award, wow. I feel really bad though, I still haven’t replied to the Leibster award yet and that was ages ago. I am not very on the ball at this sort of thing but I will try to come up with a response sooner rather than later. Thank you again!

      • You do know that responding to awards is optional, right? I’m just happy to be able to point other folks to you. I won’t be offended if you don’t craft a post around it!

  4. Pingback: Raffle for a Cure! Nerd style :-) Now bigger than ever! | technicolorlilypond

  5. Pingback: Good News – technicolorlilypond

Leave a Reply

