To Boldly Quilt

Hello, dear readers! As promised, this is a post devoted entirely to pictures of my Star Trek Quillow which I posted about here. Nothing says “Happy Valentine’s!” like something Star Trek, after all.

This was a gift for someone very close to me who has long wanted a Star Trek quilt. I’m still working on an actual a quilt for this person, by which I mean I have a giant pile of fabric and a drawing (that is how every great quilt starts!), but I was able to give them something Trek to keep them warm in the meantime.

Quillow front in progress by E.A. Schneider

Quilting in progress by E.A. Schneider

I kept the front design as simple as possible. The intended Trekker is a big fan of the ships of the Star Trek universe, particularly the Galaxy class Enterprise-D so I made that particular iteration of the flagship of the Federation the focal point of my design.

I see amazing border fabric! Is that, perchance, a quillow? Yes, dear readers, it is.

Close-up of how I used the backing fabric to fold-over and make the border of the front.

When I had the quilted pocket done I realized that it was missing something. On a practical level, the quilting lines were a little far apart and I was afraid of the batting shifting during repeated use. I busted out the embroidery floss to finish the quilting with some Federation issue flair.

Insignia hand-quilted in by E.A. Schneider

Insignia hand-quilted in by E.A. Schneider

Insignia close-up by E.A. Schneider

Insignia close-up by E.A. Schneider

I’m not the world’s best embroidery artist but I am rather proud of the detail of the star-within the insignia. This is meant to be the captain insignia that was worn during the original series. I think it turned out well.

For the blanket, I used a fleece blanket kit I bought from Jo-Ann.

Blanket for the Star Trek Quillow by E.A. Schneider

Blanket for the Star Trek Quillow by E.A. Schneider

The kit was supposed to be one of those no-sew tied style blankets but, if one actually did that, the blanket surface would be insufficient to cover most adults, including the recipient Trekker. I think the dashed lines actually look like the star tracks you can see through the ready room and Ten-Forward while the ship is flying at warp speed through space in the show so I left them in the blanket. This proved to be sufficient for good cuddling coverage and I didn’t have to add a border.

Quillow pocket attached to blanket by E.A. Schneider

Quillow pocket attached to blanket by E.A. Schneider

Here you can see the back sewn on to the blanket. From this angle, if you look closely, you can see how I swirl quilted the saucer section of the Enterprise-D on the front of the quillow as well as the back of the insignia. Other than those flourishes, the quilting is very simple outline quilting of the seams.

Here is the Star Trek Quillow, all folded up and ready to cushion a head or be cuddled during a Star Trek: The Next Generation marathon.

Star Trek Quillow folded up by E.A. Schneider

Star Trek Quillow folded up by E.A. Schneider

I am really pleased with how this quillow turned out. I think it looks very polished with its mitered corners, symmetrical design layout of the Enterprises, the border fabric, and the beautiful ships in the center.  I love these fabrics and I’m looking forward to making more Trekker projects.

Thanks for stopping by the pond, dear readers. Live long and prosper and comment below if you have any questions, comments, or just want to get into a rousing Trek discussion. Q’pla!

P.S.
I am a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program here at Technicolorlilypond, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com. If you buy this lovely: Omnigrid 12-Inch-by-18-Inch Fold-Away Portable Cutting & Pressing Station,
I will get a small advertising fee. This particular Omnigrid cutting mat is my absolute FAVORITE quilting tool. It is perfect for traveling to quilt retreat weekends and for doing seam pressing as you sew. Even if you don’t pick one up here, I hope that it helps you sew. If you do pick it up through my link, thank you very much; I hope that these fees will help support me as I continue writing and doing creative things here at Technicolorlilypond. Thanks for your support!

3 thoughts on “To Boldly Quilt

  1. <3<3<3 Oh, it's just fantastic! You found such great fabric, too, from the galactic swirls to the nebulae surrounding the ships. And the insignia is a detail that just makes it all perfect. It does my Trek-loving heart good to see it! And after the passing of Nimoy, it needed some cheer!

  2. Pingback: These are the Episodes: My 6 episode guide to decades of Star Trek in a Day – technicolorlilypond

  3. Pingback: Happy 50th, Star Trek! – technicolorlilypond

Leave a Reply

