A flurry of crafts

Squirrel in action by E.A. Schneider

Squirrel in action by E.A. Schneider

Hello, dear readers! I have some fun, creative updates for you this weekend. I am finally not producing copious amounts of mucous and involuntarily attempting to project my lungs across a room. To celebrate my return to mostly-good health, I have the following updates.

Update the first: I’m up to page 45, 13,140 words, on my WIP based on this piece of flash fiction.  Huzzah! Cue the dancing and start the band, pond readers, because this appears to be a roll. Now, the trick will be maintaining the momentum. I think I can do it and I’m hoping that maintaing the habit of updating you lovely readers will encourage me to continue.

Monitor lizard here to keep on an eye on the situation by E.A. Schneider

Monitor lizard here to keep on an eye on the situation by E.A. Schneider

Update the second: I am approaching quilting a new Queen/King size quilt that I’ve been hoping to finish for years. The quilt is pinned and ready to go, I just need to clear off the tables, get out the right foot for the job, and thread the machine. This is very exciting. Soon, very soon, there will be new quilt pictures here on the pond and new quilted comfort here at home. Mwa hahaha! Please, enjoy this sneak peak:

Pinned quilt with a sneak peak at the adorable backing flannel

Pinned quilt with a sneak peak at the adorable backing flannel

Update the third: In light of the fact that my beloved Lena (that’s my sewing machine) will be tied up in quilting duty soon, I have been frantically trying to finish several smallish projects that have been sitting on my quilting table making me feel guilty. Before viruses and bacteria combined to lay me low for the last two months I was able to finish several really nifty projects.

Behold! A Star Trek Quillow:

Star Trek Quillow folded up by E.A. Schneider

Star Trek Quillow folded up by E.A. Schneider

I teased this quillow way back in this post.  Because the Star Trek Quillow is such a nifty project that I am quite pleased with, I am going to devote a post to cataloguing its details soon. Check-back for all the fun!

A fountain pen roll-up of my own design:

Fountain pen roll-up action shot by E.A. Schneider

Fountain pen roll-up action shot by E.A. Schneider

Fountain pen roll-up from the back by E.A. Schneider

Fountain pen roll-up from the back by E.A. Schneider

Fountain pen roll-up actually rolled up by E.A. Schneider

Fountain pen roll-up actually rolled up by E.A. Schneider

The real beauty of this roll-up is that it can stand up on its own, as pictured above, thereby storing the pens in the upright position, as they are meant to be stored, while keeping them together, portable, accessible, and safe. The interior is oil-cloth and the exterior is cotton. I am super pleased with how this project turned out and it makes me smile every time I use it and see it.

Being the nerd that I am, I really like to play Magic the Gathering with my husband and friends. Dice and counters are useful things to have for this game but they can be awkward to transport. I got rather sick of scruffy plastic sandwich bags holding my dice so I made this spiffy drawstring bag of holding.

Drawstring bag of holding by E.A. Schneider

Drawstring bag of holding by E.A. Schneider

It really holds up well in the rigors of my purse without dropping dice or counters. I am pleased.

A further adventure in bag making for me was the zippered bag pictured below on the right. This was an experiment, I have never before sewed a zipper into anything, but, I think it turned out well. The scarf on the left is another of my favorite gifts to make, they are warm, easy-to-make, and fun to personalize.

IMG_5637-001

Scarf and zippered bag with yo-yo flower by E. A. Schneider

My final nifty creation was this cute apron for one of my favorite people.

French cafe apron by E.A. Schneider

French cafe apron by E.A. Schneider

Pocket close-up by E.A. Schneider

Pocket close-up by E.A. Schneider

The apron was a pre-printed panel that was fun to put together. I am a fan of anything good that simplifies crafting and gift giving and I’m definitely a fan of cute panel projects like this. Thankfully, the recipient likes it a lot too.

Those are my updates for now, dear readers. Thanks for stopping by the pond today and sharing in my creative fun. Please, share any questions or comments below. What kinds of projects are you using to wile away the winter? Share below! I hope that your winter is going well and you’re managing to be as creative and productive as you wish, dear readers.

Beautiful sky over lovely bog by E.A. Schneider

Beautiful sky over lovely bog by E.A. Schneider

 

9 thoughts on “A flurry of crafts

  1. Three cheers for the word-count! If you find yourself needing motivation, you can toss paper wads at my head and tell me to give you a pep-talk, or for that matter, bounce ideas off my skull or ask for feedback. 🙂

    I don’t know what slammed you, but I was laid low by the flue for a month, starting on Christmas day. >_< it's been through my whole family, now.

    "Star Trek Quillow" is my favorite, but wow… you have been busy…

    I've been writing, and planning things to do over the summer. I've decided that I WILL get my pond dug this year. I can't stand one more summer without frogs and with dragonflies trying to land on my car because they think it's water. 😦

    • Thanks for the encouragement, Jubilare! I really appreciate it. I’m not ready to show anyone what I have so far on my WIP but it’s good to know that you would like to help. 🙂 My doctor told me that I got caught up in a cycle of colds. I am trying mightily to rest, hydrate, eat well, and sanitize like crazy so I can break the cycle. I finished most of these projects in November and December before I really got slammed but I just didn’t have the wherewithal to put a post together.

      I’m glad you liked the Quillow! I hope to post a more detailed piece on my Star Trek Quillow this weekend.

      Good luck on your WIP and digging your pond! That sounds splendid and I hope it turns out the way you want. I look forward to pictures of the pond development, that will be pretty cool.

      • No worries! I don’t have to see it to encourage you in it.

        Take good care of yourself! I’ve found that’s the best way to get un-sick… I did not take good care of myself at the beginning, pushed myself too hard, and I think I stayed sick longer because of it. 😛 Sounds like you are doing things right, though.

  2. Hi hi! So nice to read your post. Loved seeing all your projects. I had never heard the term “Quillow” before, but it makes sense! lol
    By the way I’m going to *virtually snatch* that Fountain pen roll-up!!! I love it!!! That last picture of the view is stunning! Also love that drawstring bag awesomeness! Hubs and I purchased our own bags to hold our dice (when we were playing D&D). They are great for “bags of holding”. 😀
    Stay well!

    • I’m glad you like the posts and the pictures. If you’re interested in quillows, Jocie, I have a tutorial here at the pond to teach others how to make such cuddly fun. Are you a crafter? Sewist? If you make your own version of the roll-up, I’d love to see it on your blog with a tag-back here. Inspiring people to create is one of the primary goals of my blog. 🙂 Thanks again for reading and commenting, I hope your WIPs are going well!

      • Sorry for the late response, but I do knit! I may venture into trying out a quillow at some point, but meanwhile I will enjoy seeing any you make! 🙂 Hope all is well for you!

      • Thanks, Jocie! I hope all is well with you too. You know, you can knit a quillow. The essence of a quillow is the combo of the pocket and the blanket. You could add a knitted square to a commercial blanket to make a quillow, my mom did that for me and it was both easy to do & turned out really cozy to use. You could knit the whole thing too, both blanket and square, to make a knitted quillow. That would probably take longer but it would be super warm when you’re done. What do you like to knit? Thanks for stopping by the pond! 🙂

      • Good to know! I think it might be fun to knit the whole thing, though as you said it will just take some more time, but hey- why not? lol I’ve knit 2 scarfs and a cowl. I’m currently working on another cowl, which might be a bit too long, but it’s meant to be used as a sort of hoodie/cowl. I haven’t been a prolific knitter for awhile, but I hope to change that in the next months. I plan to be ready for next winter!! Take care 🙂

  3. Pingback: To Boldly Quilt | technicolorlilypond

Leave a Reply

