Word Count Update

Since writing my NaNoWriMo Season is Here post, I have written 1,684 more words on my novella. I’m up to page 39 and 11,050 words in total.  Considering how much traveling I’ve been doing in the last two weeks I think this is decent progress. Slowly but surely, I am building up this story’s first draft. I have been pleasantly surprised by a new character I introduced. I think he might have the potential to hijack my carefully outlined narrative a little and that is always a fun feeling. What about you, dear readers? How is your drafting going? Are you encountering any narrative surprises? Thanks for stopping by the pond!

 

Ducks under the willow by E.A. Schneider

Ducks under the willow by E.A. Schneider

8 thoughts on “Word Count Update

  1. My draft is going really well. I’m ahead on the word count, and much like yours, my characters are surprising me. Luckily, it’s been in pretty fun or helpful ways so far. Good luck with the rest of NaNoWriMo!

    • That’s fantastic! Isn’t it amazing how a single scene, a turn of phrase, or a character entrance can change the entire vibe of a story? Even the most practical, hum drum, necessary but unglamorous bit of prose can suddenly reveal something one would never have guessed. Good luck with the rest of your NaNoWriMo project, Kate, and thanks for stopping to make a comment here. 🙂

    • Thank you for checking in! I’m afraid some horrendous winter colds slowed me down. The good news is that I am feeling better now and I did make progress by hand but I don’t have a word count update because I need to transcribe everything. Soon, I hope, I will have a new tally! How are your projects going? Thanks again for stopping by the pond!

      • No problem! The novel I’m working on, I need to actually dedicate more time to -working on- lol I tend to get sidetracked, but I also want to get better at blogging consistently, and somehow I feel that is a bigger priority than my novel at the moment. Maybe because when I’m writing, it’s more of a solitary thing, which isn’t always bad, but sometimes I want to do something that allows me to connect with people. 🙂 I hope you’re doing much better and that you’re able to keep going with your projects!

      • I understand the dilemma all too well: to blog or to write on your actual project, that is the question of our times. I dunno! It depends on how things are going at any given time. I tend to neglect the blog when things are going well on the project and work on the blog when the project is being vexing. Then again, sometimes I actually manage to make progress on both and I have no clue how I pulled that off. I figure that if I keep moving forward, even if it’s at a glacier’s pace, then it counts as progress. 🙂 Thanks for reading and posting, Jocie! I hope you’re making progress too.

  2. Pingback: One Word At A Time | technicolorlilypond

Leave a Reply

