Crows

Perched crow by E.A. Schneider

Perched crow by E.A. Schneider

Lately, dear readers, I’ve been pondering crows.

Watching a crow is always magical to me. I find them enchanting. They are like little patches of the night sky, complete with stars for eyes. Yes, I know, their eyes are black too, but, when I see them seeing me too, I swear I see a glimmer there that makes me think of stars blinking across time and space to Earth. Like stars, when I see a crow I feel compelled to stop and smile, to pause a moment and contemplate them. Even in the mundane moments of their life they seem mysterious. Why was this crow just hopping around between the branches of my tree? Was it trying to get comfortable? Was it looking for a snack? Is this the crow equivalent of step-aerobics? Flap one, flap two, and stretch those flight muscles! Maybe, as reductionist as this sounds, maybe it was just fun. I know if I had beautiful, black, glossy wings like a crow, I am pretty sure I would spend several moments of every day just flapping around for the feel of the wind in my feathers.

Wingspan by E.A. Schneider

Wingspan by E.A. Schneider

 

7 thoughts on “Crows

  1. From our experience, crows are so smart that if you plant anything–ever–make sure none of them are watching so your seeds may just have a chance. As usual, your observations are beautifully positive. Thanks for this bright spot in our day! Maggie and Mr. Darcy agree…Always, Momfrog

    • Luckily, everything I planted this year began its life in the safety of my kitchen by the windows. I did find a small squash covered in little squirrel teethmarks yesterday on the steps of my deck. I was more irritated that the squirrel left it there, partially eaten, than that he/she ate it in the first place. Still, it was too charming for me to be really mad. 🙂 Thanks for commenting! I’m glad you like the post.

    • I agree! There is something about that cry that makes me stop and look for them, every time. I’m glad you liked the post. I confess one reason that crow might have been hopping about my backyard was because of the crazy lady with the giant camera stalking around the garage by the tree. 🙂

Leave a Reply

