Creations

It was a busy spring and summer here at the pond.  Things have been happening here that have kept me away from my computer. Still, I have managed to work in some crafting which I will finally share now that it’s autumn & my ability to post here has been curtailed.

First up is a scarf I made my father-in-law as an unbirthday gift during the winter that just wouldn’t leave. It is a novelty cotton on one side and a fleece on the other like these  from Christmas two years ago. I have to admit that this is a fabulous go-to present that is pretty, easy to make, and relatively inexpensive while being very customizable.

Fisherman scarf by E.A. Schneider

Fisherman scarf by E.A. Schneider

Next are a series of tea wallets I made using this tutorial: http://www.craftster.org/forum/index.php?topic=403079.0#axzz2clJOep3z

IMG_5077

Railroad wallet for my mom by E.A. Schneider

IMG_5078

Railroad wallet for my mom by E.A. Schneider

IMG_5083 IMG_5079

Mother's Day tea wallets by E.A. Schneider

Mother’s Day tea wallets by E.A. Schneider

Mother's Day tea wallets interior by E.A. Schneider

Mother’s Day tea wallets interior by E.A. Schneider

I also made one for my dad.

Dad's tea wallet

Dad’s tea wallet

IMG_5130 IMG_5132

I made myself a Darwin coffee cozy using fabric from here. I love that I can drink coffee with Darwin whenever I want.

Darwin coffee cozy by E.A. Schneider

Darwin coffee cozy by E.A. Schneider

IMG_5182 IMG_5183

For my mother-in-law  I made an armchair remote control caddy. I didn’t use a pattern, I just made it up. How do you like the action shot complete with nook and fountain pens? It matches the bedside organizer I made her in 2012. Thankfully she likes using both.

IMG_5114

Armchair remote caddy by E.A. Schneider

Armchair remote caddy by E.A. Schneider

My great crafting achievement for the season were these eye-patches.

Eyepatch model III as modeled by my toy fox.

Eyepatch model III as modeled by my toy fox.

My eyepatch model IV as worn by my awesome griffin puppet. This is my favorite eyepatch.

My eyepatch model IV as worn by my awesome griffin puppet. This is my favorite eyepatch.

Just the eye patches. I made both using quilting  cotton, black rayon, cotton binding, heavy duty stiffener, and thin black elastic. I sewed them by hand.

Just the eye patches. I made both using quilting cotton, black rayon, cotton binding, heavy duty stiffener, and thin black elastic. I sewed them by hand.

I got tired of having random people impertinently ask me “What did you do to your eye?!?!?” Therefore I did what I make a point of doing: take circumstances and turn them into an opportunity to craft something beautiful. When I wore these I heard “Oh! That is so pretty!” instead and I felt powerful again. That’s a good feeling when you need to wear an eye-patch. I’m not going to tell you why I needed these, so don’t ask. All you need to know is that, yes, I needed them; no, it’s not contagious and yes I’m better now.

I made the pattern up after a lot of trial and error, three prototypes in fact.  I have to say that when you make something just for you it is a lot more comfortable than something out of the box. Perhaps I will finally learn how to sew my own clothes. If I can drive on a freeway, sew, work in a lab, wade in a pond, volunteer, and take pictures with one eye I hypothesize that I can do pretty much whatever I set my mind to with patience and God’s grace.

I’ve been plugging away on three quilts, a quillow, and an appliance cover. Given my continuing health adventures I don’t know when I’ll get them done but where there’s a will there’s a way. I’ll share pictures of them as I get them finished and sent off to people.

Thanks for reading and joining me here at the pond, dear readers. Today I will leave you with a little bit of autumn from my back yard.

Turning colors by E.A. Schneider

Turning colors by E.A. Schneider

7 thoughts on “Creations

  1. Nice to see you back! Though real life taking us away from the computer is often a good thing, I am sorry to hear you’ve had health issues. May they be resolved soon. I would add “may you be strengthened by the experience,” but it seems you and God already have that covered. 😉
    I wish we had had such stylish eye-patches for my sister-in-law recently. She had temporary eye trouble connected with pregnancy-related hypertension. Her son was born premature, though, and he and she are both fine now, and I am an aunt! Exciting stuff.

    • Thanks, Jubilare! Here’s hoping I can manage a reply to your post/nomination in a much shorter time. Resolved is a good word to use, especially since other more satisfying ones are out of the question in my case.

      I’m glad you like the eye-patches. I hope your sister-in-law won’t need them but I’d be happy to send my protocol.

      Congratulations on being an aunt! I hope your nephew and sister are both thriving.

  2. Cannot begin to say how delighted we are with the tea caddies…They work wonderfully well, hold plenty of tea and lemon and such (and the needed wet-wipe) and it’s lovely having one for my knitting bag, too. Thanks again!!! Your father and I daily believe we are blessed beyond compare because you are our daughter. You are an outstanding example for us all, with your sunny optimism and bright smile no matter what. Your father and I are agreed: We’re so proud of you that we’re probably obnoxious, but we just can’t help ourselves…Sorry. Love this post and your site and, it stands without saying, that we love you to pieces. When we grow up instead of out, we want to be just like you!!!

      • Correction. Dad and I l o v e the caddies. They’re especially welcome when we travel….And I’m glad we’re “awesome” but we think that adjective actually applies to you and other forces beyond description…like Lake Michigan sunsets (and sunrises), bald eagles on the Manistee River..Manistee, Michigan and Ludington, Michigan generally….you get the idea. Thanks again!!!:-) We’re very very proud of you!!!!

  3. Pingback: Spring Crafting | technicolorlilypond

  4. Pingback: Please, Walk with me | technicolorlilypond

Leave a Reply

