2013 Reading Adventures

I’ve got big plans for reading in 2013. My plans are so big that realistically they will probably spill over into 2014. At a minimum I hope to read at least 35 books this year. Last year I participated in the reading challenge on Goodreads and I wound up finishing 31 books out of my desired 50. I’m hoping that my more realistic ambition of 35 books will also prove to be more achievable. We’ll see. For years my husband has been my reading buddy, we choose books to read together and discuss. Previously I broke up my reading list between a short group list of our picks and a longer personal list. This year I’m not doing that. Instead I drafted my list after discussing it with my favorite reading buddy so my list is a mash-up of both our interests and it is long enough to last me at least two years. It will be fun to see how far I can get.

Koi together by E.A. Schneider

Koi together by E.A. Schneider

Without further ado, here is the new reading list in no particular order:

  • Tam Lin by Pamela Dean<–Done! 🙂
  • Bleak House by Charles Dickens<–Done! 🙂
  • The Language of the Night  by Ursula K. LeGuin<–Done! 🙂
  • The Fisherman of the Inland Sea by Ursula K. LeGuin<–Done! 🙂

    Japanese maple and stone lantern by Ellen Schneider

    Japanese maple and stone lantern by Ellen Schneider

  • Finding My Elegy by Ursula K. LeGuin<–Done! 🙂
  • The Dispossessed: an Ambiguous Utopia by Ursula K. LeGuin
  • Villette by Charlotte Bronte
  • King Lear by Shakespeare
  • Speaker for the Dead by Orson Scott Card
  • The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
  • Song for the Basilisk by Patricia McKillip<–Done! 🙂
  • The Sorceress and the Cygnet by Patricia McKillip<–Done! 🙂
  • Od Magic by Patricia McKillip

    Japanese Maple Leaves in Autumn by E. A. Schneider

    Japanese Maple Leaves in Autumn by E. A. Schneider

  • Ringworld by Terry Pratchett
  • The Black Arrow  by Robert Louis Stevenson
  • These High, Green Hills  by Jan Karon
  • The Awakening  by Kate Chopin
  • Burn by Daniel Swenson<–Done! 🙂
  • The Space Trilogy by C.S. Lewis
  • Once On A Time  by A. A. Milne
  • A Farewell to Arms  by Hemingway
  • Their Eyes Were Watching God  by Zora Neale Hurston
  • White Noise by Don DeLilo
  • The Prelude by Wordsworth
  • The Yellow Wallpaper and Other Stories by Charlotte Perkins Gilman
  • A Princess of Mars by Edgar Rice Burroughs<–Done! 🙂
  • The Wasteland and Other Poems  by T.S. Elliot
  • Manifesto for All  by Tracy McClusker<–Done! 🙂
  • Letters From Nowhere by Tracy McClusker<–Done! 🙂
  • The Stars My Destination  by Alfred Bester
  • The Devil Wives of Li Fong by E.H. Price
  • Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace
  • The Foundation Trilogy by Isaac Asimov
  • Bully for Brontosaurus by Stephen Jay Gould
  • The Flamingo’s Smile by Stephen Jay Gould
  • The Expression of the Emotions in Man and Animals by Charles Darwin

    Tree in Black and White by Ellen Schneider

    Tree in Black and White by Ellen Schneider

  • The House of Mirth by Edith Wharton
  • Phantastes by George MacDonald
  • A Spell for Chameleon by Piers Anthony
  • The Book of Heroes by Miyuki Miyabe<–Done! 🙂
  • Ico: Castle in the Mist by Miyuki Miyabe<–Done! 🙂
  • The Souls of Black Folk  by W.E.B. DuBois<–Done! 🙂
  • The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
  • The Man Who Was Thursday by G.K. Chesterton
  • The Man in the High Castle by Phillip K. Dick
  • A Voyage to Arcturus by David Lindsay
  • The Well At the World’s End  by William Morris<–Done! 🙂
  • Slaughterhouse-Five by Vonnegut
  • Cold Days by Jim Butcher<–Done! 🙂
  • The Codex Alera  by Jim Butcher
  • Dragonhaven by Robin McKinley<–Done! 🙂
  • Silent Spring by Rachel Carson
  • Guns, Germs, and Steel by Jared Diamond
  • Tarzan of the Apes by Edgar Rice Burroughs

    Lantern in Autumn by Ellen Schneider

    Lantern in Autumn by Ellen Schneider

  • The Troll Garden and Selected Stories by Willa Cather
  • Kwaidan: stories and studies of strange things by Lafcadio Hearn
  • 100 selected poems by e.e. cummings
  • Snow Country by Y. Kawabata<–Done! 🙂
  • Flatland: a romance of many dimensions  by Edwin Abbott Abbott<–Done! 🙂
  • The Phoenix and the Carpet by Edith Nesbit
  • Arabian Nights
  • Book 1 of the Journey to the West
  • Maurice by E. M. Forster
  • The House on Mango Street by Cisneros
  • The Silmarillion  by J.R.R. Tolkien
  • A Canticle for Leibowitz  by Miller
  • Dune  by Frank Herbert
  • Moon Over the Back Fence  by Esther Carlson
  • The Dreaming Place by Charles DeLint
  • Ruby Slippers, Golden Tears by Datlow and Windling
  • The Charwoman’s Shadow by Dunsany<–Done! 🙂
  • Mermaid and Other Water Spirit Tales from Around the World  by Heidi Anne Heiner
  • Bluebeard Tales from Around the World by Heidi Anne Heiner
  • Twelve Dancing Princesses Tales From Around the World by Heidi Anne Heiner
  • Rapunzel and Other Maiden in the Tower Tales From Around the World  by Heidi Anne Heiner <–Done! 🙂
  • Cinderella Tales From Around the World by Marian Rolfe Cox and Heidi Anne Heiner

Yes, there are 76 works on that list with some works comprising multiple volumes. Granted the above list is supposed to last me through 2013 and 2014 but like the dates of a calendar I have every confidence that these coming months will come and go faster than a chamealon’s tongue. With Providence I hope to make a mighty fine dent in that list and be the better for the effort by this time in 2015. As I go I will blog about my progress and my pondering regarding each title I read. I owe you all a wrap up on my 2012 reading and if you stay tuned I will be delivering that soon. In the meantime, do you have any reading ambitions for the coming months, dear reader? What books and why? Thanks for stopping by here at the pond and may your appetite for good books be voracious and your reading be plentiful.

Riffle in the Stream by Ellen Schneider

Riffle in the Stream by Ellen Schneider

6 thoughts on “2013 Reading Adventures

  1. Dang, girl! That is quite a list. Some I’ve read, a couple I am reading, and some I have never heard of.

    Being the slow reader that I am, I have much more limited ambitions. I’m currently reading Les Misérables because it is one of those massive and intimidating classics I have never dared to read. Phantastes, because I adore George MacDonald. The Wild East: A Biography of the Great Smoky Mountains, by Margaret L. Brown because it is a topic that interests me greatly and informs my writing. I plan to read A Million Miles and a Thousand Years, by Donald Miller, at the advice of a trusted friend.
    I have so much I want to read, but I am so slow…

    • Thanks, Jubilare! What are the couple you are reading besides Phantastes? I’ve never read MacDonald before but your praise of him intrigues me. Good luck on your reading! Remember that there is no shame in slow and steady reading, you’re automatically lapping anyone not reading a book. 🙂

      • I am perpetually reading the Silmarillion, I stalled in the middle of Lewis’s Space Trilogy and want to re-read it now, and I have just been handed Speaker for the Dead. We shall see what comes of it.

        I cannot praise MacDonald enough. As all writers, he has his failings, but I’ve yet to find an author who speaks to me quite as effectively as he does. I’ve read some of his books dozens of times and I always find new and beautiful things when I re-read him.

        Thanks! And yes, that is true. I sometimes wish I could just absorb books, though. I

  2. Pingback: The Pond-dweller Returns | technicolorlilypond

  3. Pingback: 2013 Reflections | technicolorlilypond

  4. Pingback: A Sand County Spring, A Whale of a Summer, a Utopian Autumn, and an enchanting winter: my 2014 seasons of books | technicolorlilypond

Leave a Reply

