Hullo, 2013, nice to meet you

Hello again, dear readers! I know it has been a while. The holidays hit me like a truck and I am afraid this blog has been dreadfully neglected as a result.

As January comes to a close soon I thought I had better jump in and say hello again to all of you and this new year. During this holiday season I had my hands full hosting Thanksgiving and then being a crafty Christmas Elf. While I couldn’t recapture the peace of last Christmas’ effortsI did manage by grace and tea and good company to make some homemade holiday magic for some of the people I care about. Without further ado here follows some of the crafty gifts I made for people this fall and Christmas 2012.

My gorgeous Tofurkey roast. Come on, you know you want to try some, all you carnivores out there who are not allergic to soy!

My gorgeous Tofurkey roasts (there are two there). Come on, you know you want to try some, all you carnivores out there who are not allergic to soy!

Front of Bedside Organizer

Front of Bedside Organizer

Back of Bedside Organizer I made

Back of Bedside Organizer I made

I made someone special a bedside organizer as an Un-Birthday present. I got the pattern from the book One Yard Wonders by Patricia Hoskins and Rebecca Yaker. This was the first project I made from that book and it was pretty easy to do. I look forward to making more as the opportunity comes along.

Once again, the centerpiece of my Christmas crafting was the Quillow. I made quillows for several special people.

Quillow fronts all done.

Quillow fronts all done.

Peanuts Quillow

Peanuts Quillow

Elk Quillow

Elk Quillow

Butterfly Quillow

Butterfly Quillow

Canadian geese quillow

Canadian geese quillow

Fisherman Quillow

Fisherman Quillow

I planned the design for these quillows over the course of weeks. I managed to finish them though within 48 hours right before Christmas using store-bought microfiber throws and lots of tea. I have to admit I did feel especially Elf-like working right up to the minute like that.

I also made some small non-quillow crafts. I am, I confess, still working on a hand full that will yet be sent out this winter. After all, nobody knows when Jesus was born and a box of presents is usually a welcome thing.

Front of Christmas hot pad

Front of Christmas hot pad

Back of Christmas hot pad. I think these penguins are so cute.

Back of Christmas hot pad. I think these penguins are so cute.

Hot mitts decorated with yo-yos.

Hot mitts decorated with yo-yos.

Close-up on yo-yos. These hot mitts match a tea cozy I made my mom a while back. Now she can handle hot tea pots in cozy style.

Close-up on yo-yos. These hot mitts match a tea cozy I made my mom a while back. Now she can handle hot tea pots in cozy style.

Bear fabric ornaments.

Bear fabric ornaments in progress.

I also made some quilted Christmas ornaments using the novelty bear fabric you see above. Using a pattern I found in a magazine I basically quilted the bear fabric, batting, and a simple green holly fabric together. Then using pinking shears I cut around each bear square. All I had to do was add a cute holiday ribbon and I got 22 easy quilted ornaments. Of course I neglected to take a picture of the finished ones but hopefully you get the idea.

Finally, there were Christmas cookies that I made with one of my favorite people.

Tower of Christmas cookies. Huzzah!

Tower of Christmas cookies. Huzzah!

All in all it was a fun Christmas. I feel very blessed to have so many special people in my life to care about.

Hopefully the holiday season was a joyful one for all of you, dear readers, and that 2013 is well begun.  I’m not a great one for making New Year’s resolutions per se but I am a list-making junkie with a big list of creative goals for 2013, one of which is posting here more often. I did pretty well at meeting my goal from last year of three posts a month until I got busy with work. This year I’m hoping to do at least one post a month and with any luck I’ll surpass that goal. Did any of you make any creative resolutions for this year? Did you have an especcially great Christmas craft project? I’d love to hear about it in the comments section and stay tuned for some upcoming book discussion.

3 thoughts on “Hullo, 2013, nice to meet you

  1. Considering that you work full-time and also regularly volunteer, I’d say you worked extraordinarily hard!! Mercy, you expect a lot of yourself!! I love what you created!! (I especially love my potholders–which are perfect for teapots that don’t have insulated handles, which is practically every teapot I have on hand…) Thank you for sharing all your hard work and thank you for your enthusiasm–You always inspire me!! Hugs, Trollymomfrog p.s. Please remember to take some time for yourself!!!

  2. Pingback: Creations | technicolorlilypond

Leave a Reply

