So long, Summer & goodbye, October, it’s been fun

One serving of autumn by E.A. Schneider

It’s almost Halloween, the culturally accepted end of summer here in the states was Labor Day and we’ve all been enjoying pumpkin flavored everything for two months. Trees have long since turned to colors other than green as the chlorophyll retreated revealing the spectrum of substances that have been there all along. As is my custom I am sitting here reflecting upon my reading over the past several months, what it has meant to me, and what I will be reading in  winter over the long months before we see the chlorophyll in the trees again here in cheese-land. The summer was marked by some vexation in my literary ambitions. Frankly I was bested by a rather poorly written book. My momentum of reading energy was checked when confronted with the morass of imaginative potential and lack of skill that is Voyage to Arcturus by David Lindsay. Prior to attempting Lindsay’s book I had been booming along on my reading list. Since I made the decision to officially set aside the book for the foreseeable future I have made more progress. Just to remind you what I originally set out to do I have copied my reading lists below from an earlier post.

The Group List of Summer 2012

  1. Crying of Lot 49 by Thomas Pynchon  <–I’m reading this in lieu of Gravity’s Rainbow since I failed to read it (hanging head in shame). <–Done 🙂
  2. The Prelude by William Wordsworth
  3. King Lear  by William Shakespeare
  4. Speaker for the Dead by Orson Scott Card
  5. The Communist Manifesto by Marx and Engels<–Done 🙂
  6. Around the World in 80 Days by Jules Verne <–Done 🙂

Ellen’s Summer 2012 Reading List!

  1. Ringworld by Terry Pratchett
  2. Five Children and It by Edith Nesbit<–Done 🙂
  3. Tam Lin by Pamela Dean
  4. Changes by Jim Butcher<–Done 🙂
  5. Ghost Story by Jim Butcher<–Done 🙂
  6. The Black Arrow by Robert Louis Stevenson
  7. The Master of Heathcrest Hall by Galen Beckett<–Done 🙂
  8. A Room of One’s Own by Virginia Woolf<–Done 🙂
  9. These High, Green Hills by Jan Karon
  10. Song for the Basilisk by Patricia McKillip
  11. Voyage to Arcturus by D. Lindsay
  12. The Borrowers  by Mary Norton<–Done 🙂
  13. The Year of Living Biblically by A.J. Jacobs
  14. The Story Girl by L.M. Montgomery<–Done 🙂
  15. The Space Trilogy by C.S. Lewis
  16. The Merchant of Venice by William Shakespeare
  17. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
  18. The Lost World by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle<–Done 🙂
  19. Silent Spring by Rachel Carson
  20. Parker Pyne Investigates   by Agatha Christie
  21. Nightwatch by Sergei Lukyanenko <–Done 🙂
  22. Villette by Charlotte Bronte

In addition to the above I also wound up re-reading The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien and most of Emma by Jane Austen when I found myself unable to face another page of Voyage to Arcturus. Pamela Dean’s Tam Lin has become my lunchbox book, so far so good, it is an enjoyable read. Currently I am formulating my 2013 reading list. It will be an overly ambitious combination of books from the above list which I didn’t get to and books that I hope to read with my better half. Over the next couple weeks as I finish this list I plan to post capsule reviews of my thoughts regarding what I read over spring, summer, and early fall as well as some lovely photos of mine. Happy reading and happy October, dear readers, thanks for joining me here at the pond.

Japanese Maple in Autumn by Ellen Schneider

7 thoughts on “So long, Summer & goodbye, October, it’s been fun

    • Great! I hope that means you will be buying many items from my photography stores. You better look sharp because I will be swapping out some of the current photos and putting out new images and products. Thanks for your support and readership.

    • Thanks, Jubilare! I’m bummed that I didn’t reach my goal on Goodreads of 50 books in 2012 but I still read an awful lot of books so I’m happy. This year I’m shooting for a more moderate goal of 35 books so we’ll see how far I can get. Hopefully this weekend I will manage a blog post about my 2013 reading list as well as some of my recent photography.

      • If I could read as much as you, I would have far fewer sad books moping, untouched, on my shelves. 😦 It’s depressing!

        Anyway… feel free to refuse without hurting my feelings, but I was wondering if I might have your e-mail. I am noodling over a writing problem and asking friends for help. I would love your input, and your husband’s as well, if he’s willing. My e-mail is cryptarch@yahoo.com.

      • Well your books aren’t going anywhere and they can’t be that mopey since they’re on your shelf rather than in a trash heap and there is hope they will be read. 🙂 Regarding your other matter just check your inbox. 🙂

Leave a Reply

