Books & Boxes

A verdant road on which to ramble by E.A. Schneider

Hello, dear readers, I realize it has been a little while. The only excuse I can plead is that moving habitats is time-consuming and I need a time-turner to fit all the fun stuff, the practical stuff, and the necessary stuff into a day. Unfortunately those do not actually exist. Drat.

Unpacking things in the new apartment has been an interesting exercise. It is a delight to use my tea things and plates again. The process has even been a shocking amount of fun thanks to my friends and family. There’s nothing quite like digging into a miscellaneous box together that is packed with socks you’ve been missing for three years and scraps of fabric from now completed projects to bring out the laughter and the bonding. One box certainly proved to be the box. The box that developed black hole like properties by drawing everything to it which most needled us to be missing. It was day three of the move. We didn’t know where the silverware was. My husband still rankled at being without two massive CD wallets, two wallets we had been actively searching for on-and-off for months. I had given up on ever finding my resistance work-out bands and my 2009 journal/calendar, a volume I had been searching for these past few months without success. Then we found  the box. It had everything. Silverware, CDs, exercise gear, and journal with some extra school stuff thrown in. Who would have thought it? Or that we’d find missing jeans wrapped around missing bookends in a box labeled kitchen? Oh the fun of moving, it’s all an adventure, everything is new-to-us again. I kind of want to build a cardboard box fort and stage a Nerf melee.

Rock texture by E.A. Schneider
Maybe if I look at enough nature pictures I’ll forget about the mess of boxes in the other room….

But my rate of reading has slowed to a snail’s pace, my writing to a glacier’s, and my crafting to a fossil’s. Withdrawal symptoms from my creative habits are no doubt contributing to my crankiness. Still, tonight I’m resolved to take the time to update you on my reading so far.

The Group List of Summer 2012

  1. Crying of Lot 49 by Thomas Pynchon  <–I’m reading this in lieu of Gravity’s Rainbow since I failed to read it (hanging head in shame). <–Done 🙂
  2. The Prelude by William Wordsworth
  3. King Lear  by William Shakespeare
  4. Speaker for the Dead by Orson Scott Card
  5. The Communist Manifesto by Marx and Engels
  6. Around the World in 80 Days by Jules Verne <–Done 🙂
I’m two books down on my group reading list. Given my previous unsuccessful attempt at reading Pynchon I was determined that Lot 49 would not defeat me so I read it first. Truth be told it humbled me. Usually my reading comprehension is very high, books might be slow going but I get them by the end. Yet this book felt like reading in a fog. I got quite a bit, parts made me laugh, I found myself to be sympathetic to the heroine Oedipa Maas, but the overall point, the punchline of the satire, was lost on me. I find this to be vexing. Part of it might be a generational thing, it might be that I’m too young and too ignorant of specific daily details of life at the time Pynchon wrote the book for me to get the joke. I don’t know. Suffice to say that I’m looking forward to discussing it with my reading group partner once he finishes it.
Verne’s Around the World in 80 Days was a lot more fun. I giggled to myself quite a bit over the shots Verne was taking at the English character via the upright Englishman protagonist, Phileas Fogg. Passepartout is a delight as a character and so is poor Detective Fix. I thoroughly enjoyed the adventure. I found  myself frequently on the edge of my seat, gripping my nook with both hands and holding my breath as I read how Mr. Fogg, Aouda, Passepartout, and Fix would get through the journey. It turned out to be a perfect book to set the tone of my summer reading as well as my summer writing.
Another day very soon I shall post more capsule reviews of the books I’ve been reading. Until then I have reposted my list below so you can see what progress I’ve made. I’ve begun reading King Lear by Shakespeare and Changes by Jim Butcher. I may be employed. I may be busy battling boxes. But I shall never yield my reading time! <–Just imagine me making a dramatic speech in a Scotch accent here. Trust me, you’ll laugh.

Ellen’s Summer 2012 Reading List!

  1. Ringworld by Terry Pratchett
  2. Five Children and It by Edith Nesbit <–Done 🙂
  3. Tam Lin by Pamela Dean
  4. Changes by Jim Butcher<–Done 🙂
  5. Ghost Story by Jim Butcher
  6. The Black Arrow by Robert Louis Stevenson
  7. The Master of Heathcrest Hall by Galen Beckett<–Done 🙂
  8. A Room of One’s Own by Virginia Woolf
  9. These High, Green Hills by Jan Karon
  10. Song for the Basilisk by Patricia McKillip
  11. Voyage to Arcturus by D. Lindsay
  12. The Borrowers  by Mary Norton
  13. The Year of Living Biblically by A.J. Jacobs
  14. The Story Girl by L.M. Montgomery<–Done 🙂
  15. The Space Trilogy by C.S. Lewis
  16. The Merchant of Venice by William Shakespeare
  17. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
  18. The Lost World by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
  19. Silent Spring by Rachel Carson
  20. Parker Pyne Investigates   by Agatha Christie
  21. Nightwatch by Sergei Lukyanenko
  22. Villette by Charlotte Bronte
Happy reading, dear readers! Thanks for joining me at the pond.

Poppy by E.A. Schneider

9 thoughts on “Books & Boxes

    • I don’t know. Unfortunately I did not get to pet the rock. It is incredibly large, well above my height, and due to the vegetation around it hard to reach. I got this shot using my zoom. Hopefully I’ll get the chance to go back to the rock wearing proper field clothes so I can do some real exploring. 🙂

    • I’m really excited to read it. I’ve seen a couple film adaptations but I’ve just never taken the time to read the book. I’m saving it to read after one of the pieces I expect will be more serious/depressing.

Leave a Reply

