Summer 2012 Reading List

Maple Leaves in Spring by E.A. Schneider

It’s that time of year again: summer! The time for reading, for diving into imaginary lands and being transformed by the experience. Last year was the summer of Genji for me, a summer spent in Heian era Japan admiring the pomp and poetry of The Shining One and his court even as I laughed at their foibles. What summer will this turn out to be? The summer of King Lear? The summer of Ringworld? Wordsworth or Robert Louis Stevenson or Marx or Woolf?  Maybe it will be a combination, a beautiful spectrum of literature upon which I can reflect in years to come; only time will tell and I can hardly wait to find out.

Being the nerd that I am I have been carefully crafting the following reading list during April. I’ve weighed the pros and cons of the different books, my enthusiasm for reading them vs. the probability of my finishing them anytime soon, and discussed the list with my other wonderful half. Once again, my husband and I are making a book group of two to read books together and discuss them. Yes, I am ridiculously spoiled.

The Group List of Summer 2012

  1. Crying of Lot 49 by Thomas Pynchon  <–I’m reading this in lieu of Gravity’s Rainbow since I failed to read it (hanging head in shame). <–Done 🙂
  2. The Prelude by William Wordsworth
  3. King Lear  by William Shakespeare
  4. Speaker for the Dead by Orson Scott Card
  5. The Communist Manifesto by Marx and Engels
  6. Around the World in 80 Days by Jules Verne <–Done 🙂

First fiddleheads of spring by E.A. Schneider

 Ellen’s Summer 2012 Reading List!  

  1. Ringworld by Terry Pratchett
  2. Five Children and It by Edith Nesbit<–Done 🙂
  3. Tam Lin by Pamela Dean
  4. Changes by Jim Butcher
  5. Ghost Story by Jim Butcher
  6. The Black Arrow by Robert Louis Stevenson
  7. The Master of Heathcrest Hall by Galen Beckett<–Done 🙂
  8. A Room of One’s Own by Virginia Woolf
  9. These High, Green Hills by Jan Karon
  10. Song for the Basilisk by Patricia McKillip
  11. Voyage to Arcturus by D. Lindsay
  12. The Borrowers  by Mary Norton
  13. The Year of Living Biblically by A.J. Jacobs
  14. The Story Girl by L.M. Montgomery<–Done 🙂
  15. The Space Trilogy by C.S. Lewis
  16. The Merchant of Venice by William Shakespeare
  17. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
  18. The Lost World by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
  19. Silent Spring by Rachel Carson
  20. Parker Pyne Investigates   by Agatha Christie
  21. Nightwatch by Sergei Lukyanenko
  22. Villette by Charlotte Bronte

There you have it, dear readers, my reading lists for this summer. As you can see, I have made it less ambitious than my previous two lists in terms of numbers. Between employment and volunteering I figure I will have less time. I’m also focusing on more fantasy and science fiction with a smattering of some classics. I’m excited about my reading for the next several months, I hope these lists will inspire you to seek out some strange new literary worlds for yourselves. Is there a particular book you’re looking forward to this summer? It would be fun to get some discussion going in the comments. Happy reading and thanks for stopping by the pond!

Blossom by E.A. Schneider

9 thoughts on “Summer 2012 Reading List

  1. I am very impressed. I know I am a slow reader, but I can’t imagine reading half so much in a summer. Perhaps I am a slower reader than I thought!

    • I will not comment on how speedy a reader you are but I do know that I have certain advantages. I don’t have kids or pets or many local friends or cable TV; this all adds up to me having a decent amount of time in which to read. I am also unrealistically ambitious. 🙂

  2. I am not married, have no kids, and watch relatively little tv. I have local friends, though, and pets, a house… the house eats time. But really the problem is this. I am just a wee bit dyslexic, which means I read word by word and often have to go over sentences more than once (I am also a librarian, and I can attest that this makes call-numbers quite challenging!). Also, I am more than a wee bit short on attention-span. The result is a reader who takes quite a time to read a book. I absorb more literature via unabridged audiobooks than through reading, as much as I love reading. Luckily, I discovered Librivox last year.

    • Homeownership does seem to be a time vacuum from what I can see albeit a rewarding one. I do empathize with the wee bit of dyslexia. I don’t have it myself but I have my own touch of LD challenges that add spice to life in other ways. Persistence is key, however one appreciates literature one must persist. I read multiple books at once generally and try not to give up until I finish them.

  3. Pingback: Musings on the 4th « technicolorlilypond

  4. Pingback: So long, Summer & goodbye, October, it’s been fun « technicolorlilypond

Leave a Reply

