Seasons of Reading

Autumn Flame by E.A. Schneider


The fall and winter are long over, spring is nearing its climax, the summer is about to begin, and it is time for me to change book lists. As you know, back in the very beginning of fall, I posted my fall/winter reading list. Out of 36 creative works I have read 19 which amounts to 52.8% of the list. I surpassed my own goal with flying colors and I couldn’t be happier. It’s been a lot of fun. I am behind in my book blogging for the very happy reason that I have a new job doing research (huzzah!) and am slated to move habitats very shortly (huzzah! again). Since my last post of capsule reviews I have read several books which I hope to post about soon starting with Voyage of the Beagle. In no particular order, here is a list of everything I’ve read since October 2011.

  1. The Voyage of the Beagle by Charles Darwin
  2. Alone Against Tomorrow by Harlan Ellison
  3. Annie on My Mind by Nancy Garden
  4. All Alone in the Universe by Lynn Rae Perkins
  5. One for the Money by Janet Evanovich
  6. Sunshine by Robin McKinley
  7. Gulliver’s Travels by Jonathon Swift
  8. Othello by Shakespeare
  9. The Taming of the Shrew by Shakespeare
  10. A Winter’s Tale by Shakespeare
  11. The Call of the Wild by Jack London
  12. Orsinian Tales by Ursula K. LeGuin
  13. The Enchanted Castle by Edith Nesbit
  14. A Light in the Window by Jan Karon
  15. The Riddle-Master Trilogyby Patricia McKillip

    Woodpile in snow by E.A. Schneider

  16. The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery
  17. The Deception at Lyme by Carrie Bebris
  18. Of This and Other Worlds by C.S. Lewis
  19. Mistress Masham’s Repose by T.H. White
  20. The Complete Sherlock Holmes (Volumes 1 & 2) by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle <–This wasn’t on my reading list, but I read it for fun anyway.

From the changing autumn leaves to the snow and now to the blossoms of spring I have traveled through fantastic worlds populated by fairies, vampires, lilliputians, wolves, wizards, aliens, teenagers, gentry, private-investigators, naturalists, priests and revolutionaries. It has been fun. If I had to pick a favorite I’m not sure what I would say, they all meant a lot to me to read, I will need to re-read several of them, and I certainly would recommend most of them to most people who like to read. In a way though I think that The Voyage of the Beagle has been the most important of these books in the sense that when I reflect on this time of Fall/Winter 2011/2012 in a year’s time and ask myself “Which book was the book of those seasons?” I believe I’d have to say The Voyage of the Beagle. I plan to post my thoughts about the book soon as well as more capsule reviews of the books I have yet to discuss. Thanks for joining me here at the pond, I hope that these lists give you ideas for your own reading adventures and that you’ll continue to join me for summer reading 2012. 🙂

Spring blossom in wind by E.A. Schneider

Leave a Reply

