Let’s Make It Last All Year!

 

This year's free web badge from the American Library Association

Yesterday was the final day of Banned Books Week. Once again I have not managed to read all of the books or post all of the thoughts I have wanted to post this week. J.K. Rowling’s invention of the “time turner,” is one of the many inventions of fiction that I wish was a real thing I could use. I hope this last week  you have managed to read something, listen to something, thought about something, and generally managed to learn something about censorship and intellectual freedom to read. Banned Books Week is one week every fall but challenges and bannings of books happen all year. This week I continued to read Gulliver’s Travels by Jonathon Swift, frequently banned & challenged since its publication, and I am almost halfway through its contents. I plan to blog more about it soon but although it was a slow start I am  now enjoying it thoroughly and I’m glad to be reading this classic piece of satire.

In the spirit of leading by example I am going to post my Fall/Winter 2011 reading list. This list is an edited version of my summer list but I have made a point of including several young adult novels which are frequently banned and challenged that I have never read as well as one geared toward adults. Hopefully between my used bookstore and my local library network I can find copies to read. I have highlighted these controversial books in purple text, the books I’ve already begun reading in blue, and the rest are just plain old black.

Ellen’s Fall/Winter 2011 Reading List!!

  1. Gravity’s Rainbow by Thomas Pynchon
  2. Voyage of the Beagle by Charles Darwin
  3. Slippage by Harlan Ellison
  4. Alone Against Tommorow by Harlan Ellison <– Done!! 🙂
  5. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian  by Sherman Alexie
  6. Annie on My Mind by Nancy Garden <– Done!! 🙂
  7. Forever by Judy Blume
  8. Are You There, God? It’s me, Margaret  by Judy Blume
  9. All Alone in the Universe by Lynn Rae Perkins <– Done!! 🙂
  10. Changes by Jim Butcher
  11. Ghost Story  by Jim Butcher
  12. One for the Money by Janet Evanovich <– Done!! 🙂
  13. Sunshine by Robin McKinley <– Done!! 🙂
  14. The Collusus of Marusi by Henry Miller
  15. Music for Chameleons by Truman Capote
  16. Gulliver’s Travels by Jonathon Swift <– Done!! 🙂
  17. Othello by Shakespeare
  18. The Taming of the Shrew by Shakespeare
  19. A Winter’s Tale by Shakespeare
  20. The Call of the Wild by Jack London
  21. Orsinian Tales by Ursula K. LeGuin
  22. The Black Arrow by Robert Louis Stevenson
  23. 100 selected poems by e.e. cummings
  24. The Enchanted Castle by Edith Nesbit <– Done!! 🙂
  25. Volume One of the Journey to the West
  26. A Light in the Window by Jan Karon
  27. The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger
  28. The Foundation Trilogy by Isaac Asimov
  29. The Space Trilogy by C.S. Lewis
  30. The Riddle Master Trilogy by Patricia McKillip
  31. The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery <– Done!! 🙂
  32. Arabian Nights
  33. Maurice by E.M. Forster
  34. The Deception at Lyme by Carrie Bebris<– Done!! 🙂
  35. Of This and Other Worlds by C.S. Lewis
  36. Mistress Masham’s Repose by T.H. White <– Done!! 🙂
In an effort towards realistic-ish expectations I have made this list a trifle shorter than my summer list as well as slanted to include more lighter fare. I figure Gravity’s Rainbow will take me until New Year’s at least and I will need plenty of diverting material to keep my spirits up as I go. As far as why I picked the titles I did from the banned/challenged lists my reasoning is this: YA books are the most frequently challenged and hotly debated books out of everything that is available in the world of literature. I am personally fascinated by YA literature in general, the titles I have picked sound interesting to me, and I think that I can learn something valuable from them. I specifically chose Annie on My Mind  by Nancy Garden and Maurice by E.M. Forster because as someone who is a strong proponent for equal rights for everyone, including LGBT people, I think it is high time I read some books specifically focused on that minority. Also, I really like E.M. Forster as an author.
Once again, yes, I do know that it is highly improbable that the demands of reality will permit me to read everything on this list over the coming months. That’s okay. The point is to see how far I get, not to stop myself from trying in the first place. As per usual, I will blog as I go on my literary  adventures with lots of random awesome pictures of the world just because. Happy fall and happy reading, everyone!

Berries in black and white by Ellen Schneider

2 thoughts on “Let’s Make It Last All Year!

  1. Pingback: Great Banned Books Links & other fun stuff « technicolorlilypond

  2. Pingback: Seasons of Reading « technicolorlilypond

Leave a Reply

