Walking through the garden of Yo-yos

Once again I come to you with a post of a project I made earlier this summer that I neglected to take a picture of at the time. I made the following mini-wallhanging as a just-because bit of fun for my mother-in-law. In my head it was a mother’s day gift but the reality of time’s inevitable flow is not connected with my actual craft completion time except by serendipity. Huzzah! for serendipity.

Yo-yo flower garden mini-wallhanging by Ellen Schneider

It is made with a foundation of ecru pre-quilted fabric, large yo-yos, large flower yo-yos, butterfly yo-yos, large heart yo-yos, green rick-rack, glass butterfly beads, and assorted plastic buttons.  As is quickly becoming usual I added a green frog button in lieu of a signature. I used dark green grossgrain ribbon to bind the raw edges.

Close-up of the yo-yo cuteness by Ellen Schneider

Here is a close-up of the flowers. All of the yo-yos were made with Clover yo-yo makers, assorted cottons, and hand quilting thread.

Happily my mother-in-law likes it.

I’ve been stitching away on a summer yo-yo wallhanging which I will hopefully finish before I have to don my Michelin-man-esq coat to help shovel driveways. C’mon, serendipity!

 

 

Leave a Reply

