My blue chair pillow o’ fun

At long-last! It is complete and it is fluffy.

And now for some crafting fun! I suppose this is another trip down memory lane but not a very long trip–I completed the pillow to the left about a year ago and just never posted pictures of it anywhere. Why, you might ask, is it called a blue chair pillow? Is it because it is on a chair? No, dear reader! That is not the reason. In truth this pillow has a bit of a story attached to it.

Once upon a time, when I was living in my first dorm room with my college roommate we had a blue recliner chair. It was the only piece of squishy comfy furniture we had in that cinder block space and we were very fond of it.  We inherited the chair from my elder brother who had it during his college years–it was a veteran of college shenanigans and dormitories without elevators. After a year of fun and silliness the blue chair, affectionately called Bob Dole’s chair (that is another story 😉 ), finally died. It fell to pieces. My roomie and I were very sad.  Being of a crafty stripe, I had the happy thought of taking the fabric off the chair and turning it into a pair of big squishy pillows, so that each of us would have part of the blue chair and a memento of our first year together. I finished the pillow for my roomie relatively rapidly for me–she had it within the following year. I never took a picture of it unfortunately but it was blue with a multi-colored pieced cotton ruffle going round it and a purple flowered flannel back. It was fuzzy and squishy and she seemed to like it. I was pleased.

For myself I designed the pictured scene using pieces of cotton from our first quilt project together  (her ruffle on her pillow had the same cottons I believe) and a fussy cut butterfly from a cotton bandanna. I dragged that pillow front around with me for the next four years, pins and all. It was my pointiest U.F.O. (unfinished object) and one of the biggest since naturally I had the pillow form too.  Finally after I got married and the prospect of moving once again shimmered on the horizon I said enough is enough–this will be the year it gets done already! And it was. Huzzah! 😀

Now for practicalities, I used fusible to iron on the cotton details to the blue chair foundation. I used my machine to straight stitch the pieces down for further stability but I left the edges raw. I used some duck cotton I happened to have in my stash to make the sashing and backing. I zig-zagged every edge of the duck since it was prone to raveling but that helped me keep a consistent quarter inch seam later on. This was my first time using braided trim and I was extra cautious. I basted every single piece together by hand using blue thread. It was a bother but I was jolly glad I took the time since it meant I could maneuver the whole kaboodle through my sewing machine without pins. Yay! for avoiding personal injury. I must say this is one of my favorite projects and it has a lot of happy memories now which I cherish every time I settle my head on it for a nap.

I think the fairy on a snail really makes the scene.

Happy butterfly!

Notice the blue bird buttons, so cute! I am incredibly proud I successfully wrangled the button holes.

One thought on “My blue chair pillow o’ fun

  1. Pingback: Two books down…about 38 to go. « technicolorlilypond

Leave a Reply

