Final Group Summer Reading List 2011!

We did it– we finally completed our list of books to for-sure read this summer. For the first time in years Matt and I will be joined by somebody. We talked A., my sister-in-law, into joining us and she picked two books to read. Here is the book list:

  1. Gravity’s Rainbow by Thomas Pynchon (Matt’s pick)
  2. The Once and Future King by T. H. White (Matt’s pick) <–Done!! 🙂
  3. Arabian Nights (My pick!!)
  4. Voyage of the Beagle by Charles Darwin (My pick!!)
  5. Tale of Genji (A. pick)<–Done!! 🙂
  6. The Asian Mystique (A. pick)

I’m excited to read all of these books. I think they will be a challenge for me in some ways  & they will form the basis of some thought provoking discussions–which is the entire point. I don’t know if we will make it through the whole list by August 31st but I will certainly make it a priority 1.  I’m already in the second book of The Once and Future King and I’m making fast progress, it is very readable without being an easy read per se. I plan to tackle Tale of Genji next since it is very long and very old and from  a different language so I imagine it will be quite difficult to find my way at first through its pages.

Check back, I will be blogging about my progress. I hope to put together my first blog on The Once and Future King soon.

Sunshine! by Ellen Schneider

11 thoughts on “Final Group Summer Reading List 2011!

  1. Great list, but, as I mentioned below, Gravity’s Rainbow will be a chore. I love that book, but it is a long, tough, but very rewarding quest to get through. I’m very interested in hearing your reactions as you read it.

  2. Sorry, I know I just commented on the other post, but I forgot to mention – The Once and Future King has all of the monsters and magic creatures in the Harry Potter books. And there I was, thinking J.K. Rowling was a creative genius.

  3. I would love to read THE ONCE AND FUTURE KING and GRAVITY’S RAINBOW with the three of you. Email me if you have a schedule.

    Thanks.

    GJW

    • Hi Gavin! Unfortunately, we are not organized enough to have an actual schedule of reading. I’m almost finished reading The Once and Future King and I posted a little about it. I hope to post some blogs with my more detailed thoughts this week. I probably won’t be reading Gravity’s Rainbow until about July or August but check back. 🙂

  4. Anyone who lists LM Montgomery as a fav has my respect. I loved your list a few days back, so classic.

    I admire your willingness to take on other cultures. So brave.

    You will enjoy Tale of Gengi, which is huge. As for Arabian Nights? I have only read the complete unexpurgated, unabridged edition (translated by Sir Richard Burton). It was 16 volumes + 8 supplemental volumes. It took way longer than a summer.

    For a slightly shorter summer read, I’d say try going through Dumas’ 5 thick volumes devoted to the musketters: The Three Musketeers, Twenty Years, The Vicomte de Bragelonne, Louise de la Valliere, and The Man in the Iron Mask.

    Not as exotic as Arabian Nights, but a good deal shorter!

    • Thank you, Keisen! I feel the same way about Montgomery fans. I have yet to meet a Montgomery fan I didn’t really like.

      I love learning about other cultures, it makes me essentially happy. I’ve been interested in the cultures of Asia especially for years and I’ve been methodically attempting to learn more book by book. I just checked out Tale of Genji today from the library and I’m 15 pages in, I’m looking forward to finishing it.

      That is really fantastic that you read all 16 volumes by Sir Burton. You’re right, that would be more than a summer and hopefully someday I’ll get there. Where did you find it? Are you a folklore scholar? If you are then I am incredibly impressed. Studying folklore professionally is on my list of things-to-do-when-I-win-the-lottery. I will edit my post with the specific edition we will be reading so you can see. It is an edited version at only 1049 pages of Sir Burton’s translation but it is the only one available at the library so it is the one we’re reading.

      I am a fan of Dumas! I read his The Three Musketeers and The Count of Monte Cristo five summers ago and they were splendid. Maybe next summer or this winter I’ll read the sequels as you suggest. Thanks again for posting, Keisen, and visiting technicolorlilypond–hope you come back often.

  5. I found Arabian Nights by asking my local used bookstore to find it for me. It cost $120, years ago. But it’s illustrated and it had never been read, so I even had the great pleasure of cutting some of the page apart that. It had just sat on someone’s shelf, since 1886!

    Like yourself, I’ve just always been interested in other cultures. So I read a lot of history and world literature. I see old books, sets, and I just gravitate to them. That’s how I ended up with Cassanova’s multivolume autobiography too. 7 volumes of late 18th century writing and not one mention of the American Revolution!

    If you would like to read the full set Arabian Nights, it’s probably best to buy a set. The Burchard Galleries in St Petersburg, Florida has a set going up for auction in a couple of weeks. You can see it http://www.liveauctioneers.com/item/5407199 has one. Opening bid is only $100.

  6. Pingback: The Journey Continues: Genji, Darwin, and New Moon Farm « technicolorlilypond

  7. Pingback: Au Revoir, Summer, it was fun « technicolorlilypond

Leave a Reply

